How I Raise My Vibe

positive-couple.jpgI was unexpectedly tagged to play the Hi Vibe Game, a game/challenge for prolific and/or popular personal development bloggers. (I have been tagged by Cardin Lilly Routh of OptimimistLab.com http://www.optimistlab.com.)

In the grand spirit of the game, I’m going to tell you five of my secret “tricks” for Raising My Vibe. In no particular order, here they are:

  1. I read

And I read some more. High quality, wise personal development and spiritual material is a necessity for my life spirit. If I skip my daily allowance for too long, my appreciation for life and my wonder of life starts to decline. You never really learn something and then have it set in stone. You change and the meaning of the message changes somewhat. You forget … and then you rediscover it. You think you know most of what you need to know about a teaching/a lesson … and then life (or a new reading) presents it to you in a whole new light.

2. I take in various forms of creativity

I derive pure pleasure from partaking of the creativity of other writers and artists. For example, movies have moved (in my mind) from being a guilty pleasure to an art form that I require for my being. There are certain things you can do and say in a movie that cannot be communicated in any other way. And so I finally realized that movies – and other artistic food – are not guilty luxuries; they are truly food for my soul that I require in order to keep growing and evolving … to become a better, much more nuanced person.

3. I meditate

Because I tend towards impatience in learning, the trick for me was to purchase CDs that facilitate the meditation process. The CDs that I have take me to a much more profound level of meditation than I managed to achieve on my own. As an added bonus, I fall into such a deep state of relaxation that I re-enter the world refreshed.

 

4. I laugh

I admit it. I love to laugh, but even more so I enjoy making other people laugh. I literally sometimes do short stand-up routines for my fiancé. I don’t plan on becoming a professional comedian, but interacting with friends and cracking them up brings me true pleasure.

And when I really need a boost, I find a comedy special on HBO or On Demand (or a funny movie) and make myself watch it. Within five minutes my whole mood has changed. Amazing.

 

5. I drink a lot of water

Water is the wellspring of life, to my mind. I am astonished how little water most people drink. I didn’t drink much water for most of my life, but once I started drinking water in abundance, I couldn’t go back. It is obvious to me that most people are dehydrated, and this seems to affect our energy level as well as our overall health. The more water I drink, the better I feel.

Here are five other blogs/bloggers which I think will benefit you, as part of the Raising the Vibe Challenge.

  1. Guy Kawasaki, The Nine Biggest Myths of the Workplace, http://blog.guykawasaki.com/2007/05/the_nine_bigges.html, in his blog How to Change the World http://blog.guykawasaki.com/
  2. Christine Kane, Doubt is a Drag Queen

http://christinekane.com/blog/doubt-is-a-drag-queen/

3. The Positivity Blog, http://www.positivityblog.com/, Why Some People Are Almost Always Successful, http://www.positivityblog.com/index.php/2007/03/21/why-some-people-almost-always-are-successful/

4. LifeHack, http://www.lifehack.org/, Interview with Tim Ferris of the Four-Hour Workweek, http://www.lifehack.org/articles/lifestyle/interview-with-tim-ferriss-of-the-4-hour-workweek-part-2.html

5. Seth Godin’s Blog on his book The Dip, http://sethgodin.typepad.com/the_dip/

That’s it for now. This challenge was great fun. I hope you enjoyed this post and the multitude of blog entries recommended by this post and other posts via the Hi Vibe game.

June 1, 2007. life, Passion, personal, Personal Development, Work.

6 Comments

  1. OptimistLab.com replied:

    Hey there!

    Thanks for playing the High Vibes Game! I’m featuring this post today, along with four others, in today’s “High Vibes Links”.

    Hope you stop by to check it out at OptimistLab.com.

    Cardin Lilly

  2. jen_chan, writer SureFireWealth.com replied:

    I’ve actually been trying to get people to drink more water. Some of them are just too stubborn since they are used to drinking carbonated drinks. Maybe I’ll show them this article. Anyway, I also enjoy watching movies. It’s interesting to point out that you miss a lot of details the first time you watch a film. You are bound to find something new, a symbolic representation in the background or whatever. Because of this, I have taken to the habit of watching the same movie for a few times… It’s pretty interesting.

  3. vingelmilia replied:

    You don’t really need or want that lifestyle, it might hurt y’all slowly more…….Just tell him you
    don’t wanna repeat something your not too proud of z7uas.

  4. advice claim compensation injury personal scotland replied:

    Dow Jones Indexes and Muscat

    The top five companies in the index by free float market capitalization are: Raysut Cement Co. (Construction & Materials), National

  5. Ken replied:

    Water and meditation are key to having a good vibe. Great Post!!!

    Cheers,
    Ken

  6. paul replied:

    Hi

    Nice blog! I notice that it hasn’t been updated for a while and was wondering whether you’d consider selling it.

    Please drop me an email if this is an option for you.

    Thanks,
    Paul

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

