Is Your Life Working For You?

path.jpg Our life is either working for us or it is not.

Either way, we know.

In fact, I think for most people life is not working. And that’s O.K. The problem is that they don’t do anything about it.

Worse, the people who think they are doing something about changing their lives tend to be really into personal development. So they’ve bought the tapes and read the books and been to the seminars.

And yet, nothing has changed for them. They essentially keep doing the same things, with a few patches here and there from the latest guru.

I recently had a startling moment of clarity. I realized that if you really want to change your life, you have to ask yourself a basic question: is what I am doing working for me?

I don’t simply mean your job … or your TV habits … or your drinking habits … or your work ethic.

What I mean is something much bigger: is your way of thinking and being in the world working for you?

If the answer is no, then you cannot keep subscribing to your current worldview. You have to adopt a new worldview that works for you.

For example, for most of my life my worldview of achievement and winning worked well. Competition and “life awards” were the way I kept score. And I always won.
But as my life passed into a new phase, that mode of being no longer worked. And the harder I pushed my old way, the worse things got.

So I realized that I needed an entirely different way of living. I will write about this in the future, but I basically realized that what I was doing was not working … and yet everything I was doing was what I had been taught. So I needed to come up with new ways of thinking and doing — and I mean entirely new ways — if I wanted to enter a new realm of life.

As I said, I kept doing what I always did and for a while I kept getting what I always got … which was very good stuff. But after awhile, this competition mindset no longer worked for me and the universe pushed back. Hard.

So now I realize that as my soul is transitioning to a higher level, my consciousness and ways of thought have to change.

Otherwise, I would remain stuck.

Actually, I would move backward because my consciousness was operating at a higher level than my habitual ways of thought.

Finally I feel as though I am experiencing forward movement again, like a ship slowly going back out to sea. But I consciously have to operate from my entirely new mindsets everyday. If I don’t, I have a “stuck” day.

I realized I could keep living under the fog of life that I was brought up to believe would produce happiness and success … or, once my soul started reaching for higher levels of consciousness, I could set out to find my own way(s).

In exploring my new ways of being, I am excited every day to discover that life is so much richer than I ever imagined.

March 23, 2007. life, Passion, personal, Personal Development.

6 Comments

  1. The Dragon Slayer's Guide to Life replied:

    March 25th Edition of the Personal Development Carnival

    Welcome to the March 25, 2007 Edition of The Personal Development Carnival! It’s my pleasure to be the guest host for this edition which is chock full of motivation and inspiration for you. A range of depths to these articles

  2. Bryan C. Fleming » Personal Growth Carnival replied:

    […] presents anja merret » Blog Archive » Why don’t we go for self-employment? Marcy Nala presents Is Your Life Working For You? Debra Moorhead presents How to Control Your Internal Dialogue Charles H. Green presents Working and […]

  3. Life Insurance Lowdown » Blog Archive » Carnival of Life, Happiness & Meaning #1 replied:

    […] Nala presents Is Your Life Working For You? posted at The Abundant Life. Our life is either working for us or it is not. Either way, we know. […]

  4. Carnival of Entrepreneurs 16th Edition | Working Solo replied:

    […] at The Abundant Life wants to know Is Your Life Working For You? If what you are doing each and every day isn’t working then something has to change. Our life […]

  5. jason replied:

    fantastic post

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

